Blog Posts

Book Review: Seeker by Arwen Elys Dayton

Seeker by Arwen Elys Dayton

Description
For readers of A Game of Thrones and The Hunger Games comes an epic new series.

The night Quin Kincaid takes her Oath, she will become what she has trained to be her entire life. She will become a Seeker. This is her legacy, and it is an honor.
As a Seeker, Quin will fight beside her two closest companions, Shinobu and John, to protect the weak and the wronged. Together they will stand for light in a shadowy world.
And she'll be with the boy she loves--who's also her best friend.
But the night Quin takes her Oath, everything changes.
Being a Seeker is not what she thought. Her family is not what she thought. Even the boy she loves is not who she thought.
And now it's too late to walk away.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR
Arwen Elys Dayton
ARWEN ELYS DAYTON spends months doing research for her stories. Her explorations have taken her around the world to places like the Great Pyramid at Giza, Hong Kong and its many islands, and lots of ruined castles in Scotland. Arwen lives with her husband and their three children in both sunny Southern California and the rainy Pacific Northwest. You can visit her at arwendayton.com and follow @arwenelysdayton on Twitter.

My Review:
I am going to be honest....I received this book from net-galley a while ago and read it a while ago but did not post my review right away. There was a lot of hype around this book and I was a bit let down after reading it. It is not that I disliked it because I do not, but I did not think it lived up to the hype. 
This is why....
It starts out slow and is difficult to get into the novel because it is difficult to follow. The characters are not strong enough for me, there was hope there just no complete characters. The world-building was not that great and the rules of the world were a bit confusing. I did like the book toward the end the plot picked up and kept my interest which is the only reason why I was able to finish the book. I feel like this book fell victim to the first book syndrome, where the author has a difficult time setting up the world and characters. I hope the second book is better. 

My Rating:



Comments

Post a Comment

Thanks for the Feedback please come back and visit again!

I host for: